Name: The First And Best Identity

A person’s first identity is his or her own ‘Name’. Occasionally, after the birth of children, parents keep their names which carry their identity not only their whole life but also after their death.

Everyone has affection and esteem to his or her name and no one wants to spoil it. Ms. Elizabeth, who is a character of the play of The Crucible by Arthur Miller, is accused of witchcraft. John Proctor, who is the husband of Ms. Elizabeth, came to save his wife from the accusation. However, at last, their servant Mary Warren told lie and accused Mr. Proctor as a devil because of being afraid of Abigail. Finally, when Mr. Proctor marked to hang, everyone told him to confess and sign. He signed, but suddenly, he tore that form. Mr. Danforth asked him that was he denying that confession? Mr. Proctor told that he was not denying that confession, but he didn’t want to blemish his name even though he knew that due to tearing that form, he had to hang. He said to Danforth the reason not to spoil his name, “ Because it is my name! Because I can not have another in my life!…How may I leave without my name? I have given you my soul; leave me my name!”( Miller 240). He thought that if he spoiled his name, he couldn’t get back his name again. Year after year, everyone even his children would thought that John Proctor was a person of devil. Everyone would have a bad thought with the name John Proctor. He might die, but he must not destroy his name JOHN PROCTOR.

Name is a person’s soul. When someone forces us to change our name, we can die, but we never agree to change our name. When Japanese Government forced to Korean people to keep Japanese name, we realised the Korean people’s reaction in the novel “When My Name Was Keoko”. In that novel, when Japanese Government published the law of changing Korean name, uncle, Abusi, and Tae-Yul became angry about it. Uncle said, “I won’t do it! They can’t do this- they can’t take away our names! I am Kim Young-chun, I will never be anyone else! ….Let them! Let them arrest me! They will have my body, not my soul-my name is my soul!” (Park 4-5). According to uncle, he may die, but he must not change his name and can never be anyone by taking another name because his name is his soul and identity. To sum up, as our name is our soul, we should try to keep it spotless, and we should respect and love our name.

This entry was posted in Personal Response. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Name: The First And Best Identity

  1. shekofakofa says:

    Wow! I really like how you relate to different stories together. It is very creative. Yes, it is true that no one want to change her/ his name since it is their identity. In the story of Keoko, she does not want to change her name because they want her to change her identity and become Japanese. In The Crucible Proctor does not want to put his name on the paper because his name will reflect badly in the village after his death. Thank you Asfia, it is really nice. :I

  2. kalpu1 says:

    Great piece of writing Asfiya, 🙂 really agree with Shekofa. Like the way you relate two stories together with a certain excerpt of it i.e person’s name. Really name is the one which identify a person, his/her character(as Proctor through his name people used to recognise), behavior, even the country too (As in the novel of Sue Park) that you have mentioned. Yes, Asfiya, we have one name, we can’t get another, so we should always be good with others, do good and shouldn’t impure our name. As far as we read the novel of Arthur Miller, The Crucible, we can conclude how importance our name is. Even Proctor feel good to die rather then spoiling the name by accusing others.

  3. rana90 says:

    wonderful really awesome paper of creative writing.Asfia you are right i agree with you.Our name is our identity and its a symbol of our personality.If any one force us to change our name we will never our name.As we have already read in the story of Keoko,that kerean people were forced by japanesec nage their name but,this was impossible thing for koren poeple how they can demolich thier on identity,culture and symbol. Therefore, i think no one is ready to chnage his/her name.

  4. sharmin00 says:

    Nice writing Asfia. Really name is the most important thing in a man’s life. Generally people have only one name and this is his or her identity. We can not give it up or to others to take away. I am also with John Proctor and uncle.

  5. Thank you very much my dear friends. I am very glad for your nice comments. It will help me to work strongly……………:)

Leave a comment